A trick to make a scroll saw blade cut faster and easier is to put a small bend in the blade. First be aware that this will weaken the blade and it will break faster, but it does make cutting faster. It also helps on cutting very hard wood. Make a small bend to the right and then bend it back so the ends are straight up and down. You only need about 1/16 of a bend. If you have dull blades laying around they make a great practice blade.

I found this trick by having a blade bend on me and rather than throw it out, I tried to straighten it. I was not doing anything special and was not able to get the cutting area back to perfectly straight. I put it back in anyway and it really was like cutting softwood.

Once you get on to the bend and straightening, you can cut and not even know the bent blade was used on the finished piece.

